Workshop with

CHRISTOPHER TIN

"From Film to Video Games and Beyond"
THURSDAY 17TH JUNE 20:00 CEST / 19:00 BST / 11:00 PDT / 12:00 MDT

On Thursday 17th June we chatted to Grammy®-winning composer Christopher Tin. We explored what drives the man behind a broad width of concert and media music.

 

His much loved 'Baba Yetu' uses a Swahili setting of The Lord’s Prayer and is a modern choral standard fusing infectious melody and gospel rhythms with complex modulations and soaring orchestration. Originally written as the theme song for the video game ‘Civilization IV’, it cemented its place in history when the Guinness Book of World Records recognized it as the first piece of music written for a video game ever to win a Grammy.

Time Magazine calls his music ‘rousing, anthemic’ while The Guardian calls it ‘joyful’ and ‘an intelligent meeting of melody and theme’. His output is strikingly diverse: ranging from lush symphonic works, to world-music infused choral anthems, to electro-acoustic hybrid film and video game scores. He is also an in-demand collaborator, working with artists across a wide-range of musical genres, including Lang Lang, Alan Menken, BT, and Danny Elfman.

His music has been performed in many of the world’s most prestigious venues: the Lincoln Center, Kennedy Center, Hollywood Bowl, United Nations General Assembly Hall and Carnegie Hall. He has also been performed by ensembles diverse as the Philharmonia Orchestra, Metropole Orchestra and US Navy Band, and has also conducted full concerts of his own music with the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra and Welsh National Opera Orchestra.

Our workshops are free but if you make a donation it will help us to cover costs and run future projects. Many thanks for your support.

Logo05c_edited_edited.jpg
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • YouTube
  • Instagram
  • iTunes
  • Spotify